
Energix Renewable Energies has bought a 150 MW solar project in Erie County, Pennsylvania. It has a signed PJM interconnection agreement, roughly 1,168 acres of land and an estimated build cost of $263 million. It also sits across four separate townships, and the grid agreement carries a date that none of those townships is bound by.
A date. An interconnection agreement is the contract between a generator and the grid operator that fixes how and where the project connects, who pays for the network upgrades it triggers, and by when it must be in service. In PJM, where the queue has been the binding constraint on new generation for years, that document is the scarcest thing a developer holds.
It is also the strictest. French Creek's agreement requires commercial operation by 30 June 2029. That is not a target in a business plan. Miss it and the queue position is at risk, and a queue position is not something a buyer can replace by spending more money.
So the clock is what Energix has bought alongside the land. Enerdatics estimates that the developer will have secured construction financing by December 2027, an estimate based on reported development timelines for solar projects of this scale in the region rather than a disclosed schedule. Read against a June 2029 deadline, that leaves around eighteen months for construction of a project of roughly 290,000 panels. Achievable, with very little room for a bad winter or a late equipment delivery.
Because Pennsylvania zones land at the municipal level, and 1,168 acres does not respect municipal boundaries. At about 7.8 acres per MW, French Creek is spread across the Union, LeBoeuf, Amity and Waterford townships. Each runs its own zoning process, with its own hearings and its own appetite for solar.
The record documents approvals in three of those four. Amity Township granted zoning approval on 3 December 2025. Union and LeBoeuf were confirmed as of July 2026. Waterford is not addressed in the record, so its status is not something to read either way from the data.
What that timeline shows is the ordering most people get backwards. The interconnection agreement was signed in January 2026, after one township approval and six months before the next two were confirmed. The grid slot came first and local consent caught up behind it. That is rational in PJM, where queue position takes years to obtain and zoning can be pursued in parallel, but the deadline and the permissions run on different calendars. The grid deadline is fixed. Municipal timetables are not.
The cost of building the project, not the price of buying it. The consideration Energix paid was not disclosed, and conflating the two is the most common error in reading a deal like this. At $263 million against 150 MW, the build cost works out at roughly $1.75 million per MW, which is a construction number for a late-stage project that will not generate for almost three years.
Enerdatics has covered the same measurement trap in US financing, where $260 million attached to 85 MW of community solar turned out not to measure what it appeared to measure. A headline dollar figure only means something once you know what it counts.
One further detail belongs with the capacity. The PJM interconnection approval covers a planned 25 MW and 250 MWh battery as part of the broader generating facility. On those figures the battery would have a ten-hour duration, well outside the two to four hours at which most US storage is built, and the record does not explain the configuration. It is reported here as recorded rather than as a settled design.
Enerdatics records 11 Pennsylvania solar transactions since the start of 2024, and exactly one of them carries a disclosed value. It is Energix's own: $42 million for a 425 MW development-stage PJM solar portfolio in December 2024, or about $99,000 per MW. That single point is the only public anchor for development-stage solar pricing in the state, and it sits roughly eighteen times below French Creek's per-MW build cost. The two numbers measure different things, which is precisely why the comparison is useful. Concentration on the seller side is just as striking: Prospect14 is the vendor in four of those 11 transactions.
It signals that the interconnection agreement has become the asset, and that development capital is structured to be repaid by selling it. Ampliform secured a development loan facility of up to $165 million from Copenhagen Infrastructure Partners in October 2025, through its Green Credit Fund I, to advance its near-term PJM portfolio. Eleven months later it sold a flagship PJM project with the grid agreement in hand. That is not a reversal. It is how development debt is retired: the lender funds the work that creates the permit and the queue position, and the sale of that package pays the lender back.
For buyers, the appeal is a project where the slowest step is already done. Energix is running the same play across three simultaneous acquisitions totalling roughly 750 MW and is now at nine projects in Pennsylvania, having bought into US utility-scale solar before: Enerdatics covered its purchase of an Ohio project when CleanCapital exited Ohio solar to focus on distributed generation. The pricing, though, stays private. One disclosed value in 11 Pennsylvania transactions is the norm rather than an omission, and it is the same picture Enerdatics found in a 2.7 GW US portfolio deal that disclosed no terms at all. Anyone benchmarking Pennsylvania solar is working from a single print.
What did Energix buy in Pennsylvania?The 150 MW French Creek solar project in Erie County, planned across roughly 1,168 acres with about 290,000 panels, from Ampliform. Terms were not disclosed. Verdonck Partners advised Energix.
When does French Creek have to be operating?Its PJM interconnection agreement requires commercial operation by 30 June 2029. Enerdatics estimates construction financing will be in place by December 2027, an estimate drawn from comparable regional development timelines rather than a disclosed schedule.
What do Pennsylvania solar projects sell for?Almost never publicly. Of the 11 Pennsylvania solar transactions Enerdatics records since the start of 2024, one discloses a value: $42 million for a 425 MW development-stage PJM portfolio in December 2024, about $99,000 per MW.
Enerdatics tracks US solar acquisitions, financings and interconnection milestones as they are recorded. Explore the Enerdatics Insights page.