Enlight's Latest Finnish Battery Deal Named Everything Except the Battery

October 12, 2026
Enlight's Latest Finnish Battery Deal Named Everything Except the Battery

Enlight Renewable Energy has bought a ready-to-build battery in Finland from a developer called Usva Energia. Neither side said which battery. The announcement carried a buyer, a seller and a stage, and then stopped. Enerdatics put a name to the asset using municipal planning records and a line in the Finnish trade register, and the name turns out to matter more than the omission.

Key takeaways

  • Enlight Renewable Energy has acquired the 100 MW/400 MWh Aurora battery storage project in Finland from Usva Energia Oy. The consideration was not disclosed. Hannes Snellman acted as legal adviser to Usva Energia.
  • Neither buyer nor seller identified the asset publicly. Enerdatics matched it to the Aurora project by linking the entity Usva Energy Storage Aurora Oy to an electricity storage project in Pyhajoki through municipal records, then finding trade register records showing that the same legal entity had been renamed Enlight Energy Storage Aurora Oy.
  • Aurora sits on the Kotila farm at Pyhajoki, holds a construction permit granted in January 2026, and reached ready-to-build status in July 2026. It will connect to Elenia's 110 kV distribution grid through two adjacent underground cables tied into the Oltava-Valkeus A and Oltava-Valkeus B lines, with municipal placement approval secured in May 2026.
  • At 400 MWh behind 100 MW, Aurora has a duration of four hours. Enerdatics records 15 Finnish battery transactions with a stated duration since the start of 2024, of which 11 run under three hours and four run four hours. Enlight has bought two of those four, five days apart.
  • Enerdatics records 28 Finnish battery transactions since the start of 2024. Ten of them are filed without a project name, and only two priced asset trades exist in the whole set, at $0.058 million per MW for 125 MW in March 2025 and $0.027 million per MW for 30 MW in June 2024.

How do you identify a project nobody named?

Through the paperwork a project cannot avoid leaving behind. Finnish battery projects are usually held in a single-purpose company, and that company appears in municipal planning files when it applies for permits and cable placement approvals. Enerdatics found Usva Energy Storage Aurora Oy attached to an electricity storage project at Pyhajoki in those records. The trade register then showed the same legal entity renamed Enlight Energy Storage Aurora Oy.

A change of company name is not a press release, but it is a transfer of control recorded in a public register. Put next to the municipal file, it identifies both the asset and the new owner without either party saying so. The reason this is worth doing rather than noting as a curiosity is that an unnamed project cannot be compared with anything. Capacity alone tells a reader very little about a Finnish battery, because the variables that decide what one is worth are its duration, its permit status and what it is connected to, and all three are properties of a named site.

What does the connection point say about this asset?

It separates Aurora from the Finnish batteries it will be compared against. Aurora connects to Elenia's 110 kV network, which is a distribution system rather than the national transmission grid. The 125 MW Kristinestad project Enlight bought five days earlier sits beside a Fingrid substation, as does the AKKU One project at Lapinlahti. Aurora is a 100 MW asset taking its connection from a regional network operator instead.

That is a different queue, a different counterparty and a different set of constraints on what the battery can do at full output. The record does not say the connection limits Aurora, and it should not be read as a defect. It does mean the two Enlight purchases are not interchangeable despite looking similar on a summary line, and it is the kind of difference that disappears entirely when a deal is reported as a capacity figure and a country.

Why is the same developer selling the same configuration twice?

Because the configuration is the product. Aurora is Usva Energia's third ready-to-build divestment of 2026, and it follows the sale of a 100 MW battery project at Teuva to Prime Capital in March 2026. That earlier transaction was also recorded without a project name and also carried 400 MWh behind 100 MW. The same developer has now sold the same power rating, the same energy capacity and the same entry stage twice inside seven months.

Usva describes the deal as an endorsement of its development platform, and the shape of its 2026 supports that reading: it builds projects to a fixed specification, takes them to the point where every permit is in place, and hands them over before construction. Finnish storage has been sold to a repeated specification by more than one developer, and the pattern now extends to the four-hour end of the market as well as the two-hour end.

Enerdatics records 28 Finnish battery transactions since the start of 2024, and ten of them carry no project name at all. Only two are priced asset trades, at $0.058 million per MW for a 125 MW project in March 2025 and $0.027 million per MW for a 30 MW project in June 2024, both bought by the same company. One further record quotes a figure in its heading that does not appear in the structured deal value field, which is the kind of number that should not be used as a price. Against a set that thin, a buyer underwriting Aurora has almost nothing to anchor against except the permits, the duration and the connection.

What does the deal signal for Finnish storage?

It signals that disclosure is falling behind the volume. Twenty-eight transactions in under three years is an active market by Nordic standards, and ten of those twenty-eight do not identify the asset that changed hands. That is a market where the pipeline is deep enough for developers to sell without competing on transparency, because a buyer who wants the project will do the diligence privately and a buyer who does not was never the audience for the release.

The second read is about where duration is heading. Four-hour Finnish batteries remain the exception, at four of the fifteen records that state one, and Enlight now owns half of them. A fully permitted Finnish battery with a grid connection and a contracted revenue layer has been the model institutional buyers reach for in this market. Aurora arrives with the permits and the connection and no disclosed offtake, which leaves the revenue question open and makes the duration the part of the asset doing the work.

Frequently asked questions

Which project did Enlight buy from Usva Energia?The 100 MW/400 MWh Aurora battery project on the Kotila farm at Pyhajoki in Finland. Neither party named it publicly. Enerdatics identified it from municipal records naming Usva Energy Storage Aurora Oy and trade register records showing that entity renamed Enlight Energy Storage Aurora Oy.

How much did Enlight pay for the Aurora battery project?The consideration was not disclosed. Only two of the 28 Finnish battery transactions Enerdatics records since the start of 2024 are priced asset trades, at $0.058 million per MW and $0.027 million per MW, so there is very little in this market to price a deal against.

What does ready-to-build mean for a Finnish battery project?It means the permits, land rights and grid approvals needed to start construction are in place. Aurora secured a construction permit in January 2026 and municipal placement approval for its grid cables in May 2026, reaching ready-to-build in July 2026.

Enerdatics tracks every Nordic battery transaction with the duration, permit status and connection point behind it, which is how an unnamed 100 MW project becomes an asset you can compare. Browse more transaction analysis in the Enerdatics insights archive.