Ardian has bought three operating wind farms in Sweden and Finland from KGAL. Seventy-three megawatts, twenty-one Vestas turbines, all commissioned between 2016 and 2019. Presented as one Nordic portfolio it reads like a single asset with a single revenue story. It is three, and they do not end together.
Key takeaways
- Ardian acquired a 73.2 MW onshore wind portfolio in Sweden and Finland from an investment vehicle managed by KGAL on 12 October 2026, through its Clean Energy Evergreen Fund and Enordic Evergreen platform. The consideration was not disclosed.
- The portfolio comprises the 26.4 MW Silovuori wind farm in Pyhajoki, Finland, the 36 MW Sotterfallan wind farm in Jonkoping, Sweden and the 10.8 MW Anneberg wind farm in Tidaholm, Sweden.
- The two Swedish farms hold Swedish electricity certificates covering 100 percent of their generation until December 2033 for Anneberg and June 2034 for Sotterfallan.
- Of 35 operational Nordic wind asset transactions Enerdatics records since the start of January 2024, 16 disclose enough to compute a value per MW. The median of those is $1.42 million per MW, in a range from $0.78 million to $2.21 million.
- Ardian bought the 62 MW Furuby wind farm in southern Sweden from ERG in January 2026 at an enterprise value of 71 million euros, or $1.33 million per MW, with up to 6 million euros more payable through production-linked earn-outs.
What are the three revenue regimes inside one 73 MW portfolio?
A Finnish feed-in tariff, Swedish electricity certificates and the Nord Pool spot market underneath both. Silovuori, the Finnish asset, historically secured a 12-year feed-in tariff under Finland's renewable energy support scheme, with its electricity traded on Nord Pool. A feed-in tariff pays a fixed rate per unit for a defined term, so its clock started when the farm was commissioned in 2016, not when the portfolio changed hands.
The two Swedish farms run on a different mechanism. Both are approved under Sweden's electricity certificate scheme, which awards a tradable certificate for each MWh of qualifying renewable output, sold on top of the power itself. Anneberg's certificates cover 100 percent of its generation until December 2033 and Sotterfallan's until June 2034. Both are also registered for guarantees of origin, documents proving a unit of electricity came from a renewable source and sold separately from it.
So a buyer is not underwriting one support scheme with one expiry. It is underwriting a Finnish tariff whose term began a decade ago, Swedish certificates that run out six months apart in the early 2030s, and merchant exposure that grows as each falls away. By capacity the split is 63.9 percent Swedish and 36.1 percent Finnish, so the certificate clocks govern most of it.
Why does the SE3 price zone matter more than the country?
Because the Nordic market does not price by country. Sweden is divided into bidding zones, geographic areas within which electricity clears at a single price, and prices can differ materially between them at the same moment. Both Swedish farms sit in SE3, which Enerdatics describes as one of the most attractive electricity pricing zones in the Nordic region. Finland is a separate price area again. Describing the result as a Nordic portfolio is accurate geographically and misleading commercially, because the three farms do not share a price.
Ardian's stated rationale leans on the demand side. The firm points to rising Nordic electricity demand, particularly from the rapid growth of data centres, and intends to apply its OPTA data analytics platform to optimise performance across Enordic Evergreen. For assets that will spend their later years closer to the spot market, trading capability is the part of the thesis that has to work.
What does Ardian's own Furuby deal say about the price?
It is the closest read available, and it does not transfer cleanly. In January 2026 the same buyer, through the same platform, bought the 62 MW Furuby wind farm in southern Sweden from ERG at an enterprise value of 71 million euros, or $1.33 million per MW, with up to 6 million euros more available through production-linked earn-outs. Furuby generates around 200 GWh a year, produced EBITDA of 6.3 million euros in 2024, and carries a 10-year pay-as-produced power purchase agreement with Skelleftea Kraft from 1 January 2026 covering roughly 150 GWh a year. Enerdatics understands the remaining output is sold in the merchant market.
The differences are what make the comparison useful. Furuby entered service in November 2022 with a fresh 10-year contract attached, while the KGAL assets date from 2016, January 2019 and August 2019 with their support running down rather than starting up. A buyer should pay less per MW for an older fleet with a shorter contracted period, which is why the Furuby print reads as a ceiling here rather than a midpoint.
No value was disclosed, so the benchmark is the only other guide to scale. At the Nordic median of $1.42 million per MW, 73.2 MW would imply roughly $104 million; across the middle half of the sample, $1.28 million to $1.60 million per MW, about $94 million to $117 million. Those are benchmark-implied figures rather than anything either party has said, and the age profile of these farms argues for the lower end.
Enerdatics records 35 operational Nordic wind asset transactions since the start of January 2024, of which 16 disclose enough to compute a value per MW, and those 16 account for $2.11 billion. The spread is nearly threefold, from $0.78 million to $2.21 million per MW. The lowest print belongs to Wallenstam's sale of 112 MW of Swedish wind to Locus Energy in June 2026, a fleet of 53 older turbines carrying repowering capital expenditure. Age and contract cover, not country, move the number.
What does the deal signal for the Nordic wind market?
It shows that the buyers of small operating portfolios are now platforms rather than standalone funds. KGAL assembled these assets separately, taking Silovuori in 2015 and Anneberg and Sotterfallan at the end of 2017 while they were still in construction, and is now exiting all three together. The purchase lifts Enordic Evergreen to 350 MW, so this transaction is about 21 percent of the platform it joins. The same logic runs at larger scale, as Cloudberry's acquisition of Orron Energy's Nordic portfolio showed in June 2026.
The harder signal sits in the dates. Certificates expiring in December 2033 and June 2034, and a Finnish tariff whose term began in 2016, mean whoever owns these farms in the 2030s owns merchant Nordic wind. That is defensible if demand growth from data centres and electrification holds up, and uncomfortable if it does not. The decision here is not really about 73 MW of turbines. It is a view on SE3 and Finnish spot prices once the support schemes that built these assets have finished paying out.
Frequently asked questions
Which wind farms did Ardian buy from KGAL?Three operating onshore wind farms totalling 73.2 MW: the 26.4 MW Silovuori farm in Pyhajoki, Finland (2016); the 36 MW Sotterfallan farm in Jonkoping, Sweden (August 2019); and the 10.8 MW Anneberg farm in Tidaholm, Sweden (January 2019).
How much did Ardian pay for the portfolio?The consideration was not disclosed. At the median of $1.42 million per MW for operational Nordic wind asset deals since the start of 2024, 73.2 MW would imply roughly $104 million.
When does the revenue support on these farms end?Anneberg's Swedish electricity certificates cover 100 percent of generation until December 2033 and Sotterfallan's until June 2034. Silovuori's Finnish support is recorded as a 12-year feed-in tariff secured historically, with its electricity traded on Nord Pool.
Ready to get deal-ready answers in seconds? Try Enerdatics Leap AI and access verified intelligence across M&A, financings, PPAs, projects, and energy market developments through natural language.

.jpeg)

