Energy Vault acquired 100% of Development Vault from Goshe, adding >2.3 GW across 15 U.S. BESS projects and its development team. Two RtB assets totaling 350 MW target Q1 2028 COD and ~$30m annual run-rate EBITDA. The 150 MW / 339 MWh Two Brothers BESS in Victoria County, Texas is one RtB asset; Goshe’s Dec’24 sale process also included a 200 MW Brazoria County project, likely the undisclosed second asset. S2G’s $40m facility carries over; PEI Global Partners advised Goshe.
1. Goshe built and monetized a 2.3 GW development platform in ~4 years
Established in Oct’22, Goshe built its platform by acquiring late-stage BESS projects and advancing them through financing and construction. By Dec’24, PEI Global Partners was marketing the company around a ~2.6 GW pipeline. By May’26, Goshe had raised >$460m, commissioned 100 MW Bexar and moved 180 MW Arroyo into construction.
Before closing, Goshe moved selected development subsidiaries into Development Vault and sold the vehicle to Energy Vault; Bexar and Arroyo remain separately tracked by Enerdatics. The ~2.3 GW transfer reconciles with the original ~2.6 GW platform after excluding those 280 MW. In Enerdatics’ view, this shows how late-stage aggregation, financing and an operating track record can create platform value before the wider pipeline reaches COD.
Get the full Energy Vault–Goshe research on the Enerdatics platform
Deeper insights on the projects involved, company strategies, and market trends — free of cost.
2. Energy Vault’s fifth BESS acquisition since Mar’25 adds a U.S. development team
Energy Vault’s U.S. BESS acquisitions include SOSA (150 MW / 300 MWh, Oct’25) and McMurtre (175 MW / 350 MWh, Mar’26), alongside Stoney Creek in Australia (Mar’25) and BayWa r.e.’s 850 MW Japan portfolio (Apr’26). At >2.3 GW, Development Vault is its largest U.S. acquisition by pipeline capacity.
Energy Vault secured up to $300m of Orion Infrastructure preferred equity in Aug’25 and a $137.5m U.S. BESS facility in Aug’26. Goshe adds a $40m S2G facility and expands Asset Vault, its platform for financing, developing, owning and operating energy storage and AI infrastructure. With Energy Vault’s integration, software and EPC capabilities, the deal advances an integrated developer-operator model for standalone BESS and recurring earnings as projects reach COD.
This capability also supports Energy Vault’s AI push. In Aug’26, it signed a 1.25 GW Texas power-infrastructure agreement for a hyperscale data center; its owned energy and AI portfolio now exceeds 1.75 GW in operation or construction.
3. U.S. BESS platforms transacted at ~$0.18–0.54m/MW; development-team value clusters at ~$7–9k/MW
U.S. storage-platform transactions span ~$0.18–0.54m/MW in EV. SK E&S’ Sep’21 Key Capture Energy deal equated to ~$0.18m/MW, ENGIE’s Aug’23 Broad Reach Power acquisition to ~$0.54m/MW, and Brookfield’s Jul’26 Aypa Power deal to ~$0.26m/MW.
Enerdatics benchmarked development-team value through execution-linked consideration. In Enbridge’s Sep’22 $320m acquisition of Tri Global Energy, $50m was contingent on executing its 7 GW pipeline and the team remained in place. The ~$7.1k/MW contingent value proxies development capability. International precedents are similar: Federated Hermes–Rivington at ~$9.0k/MW, Vattenfall–Solizer at ~$8.3k/MW and OX2–ESCO Pacific at ~$8.0k/MW. Across the four deals, execution-linked value clusters at ~$7–9k/MW; applied to Development Vault’s 2.3 GW, that implies ~$16–21m separate from project rights.
Flatiron Energy offers a current storage-platform reference: ~4.5 GW / 18 GWh of development and construction, a reported $400–600m equity valuation, with Plus Power, Invenergy, TPG Rise Climate, CIP and Manulife among final-stage parties.
U.S. storage and development-platform transactions: valuation and execution-linked benchmarks
| Deal (announced) | Capacity | Consideration | Value / MW | Execution-linked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Energy Vault / Dev. VaultSep-26 | 2.3 GW | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | ~$16–21m* |
| SK E&S / Key Capture EnergySep-21 | 3.3 GW | $600m (95%) | ~$0.18m/MW | – |
| ENGIE / Broad Reach PowerAug-23 | 3.0 GW | $1.6bn EV | ~$0.54m/MW | – |
| Brookfield / Aypa PowerJul-26 | 26.5 GW | $7.0bn EV | ~$0.26m/MW | – |
| Enbridge / Tri Global EnergySep-22 | 7.0 GW | $320m incl. $50m contingent | ~$0.05m/MW | ~$7.1k/MW |
| Flatiron Energy2026 process | 4.5 GW | $400–600m equity | ~$0.09–0.13m/MW | – |